Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Can someone help me keep time?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by CitricGuy, Aug 31, 2003.

1. I've been playing for almost two years now and for one reason or another my timing has me down. :( When I play back a recording I'ts like I was playing in my own little world. Does anyone know of any timing exercises that could help me? Anything that could help me keep/create/"find" a beat would be a major help. I'll save my complaining about tone and technique for later, timing seems to be my biggest problem right now =(

2. Two things:

1) metronome
    2) practice

in any order, but you need both...

- Wil

3. tapping your foot helps.
    use it like bass drum, and set out a simple beat; 1,2,3,4,1,2,3,4,... etc ;)

and make sure the strong beat is coming on the first beat, make sure you can feel that beat!!

4. James S

James S

Apr 17, 2002
    New Hampshire
    CitricGuy,

I think you have answered your own question.

Play along with a recording that is has a very simple bass line that is easy to hear. If you match what you hear you will not be playing in your own world.

The challenge here is to NOT do your own thing. i.e. you own world.

If you can say "one- two- three- four" in time with a metronome you can play with good time. You just need to make it a priority when you pick up the bass.

5. SuperDuck

SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Wisconsin
    As agonizingly painful and boring as it might be, you might want to try what my teacher recommended for me- get a metronome and play REALLY REALLY slowly.