1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Can Someone Help Me to Understand the Use of Phrygian Dominant Scale in Jazz

Discussion in 'Music Theory [DB]' started by doran.dragic, Nov 19, 2016.

1. doran.dragic

doran.dragic

Jul 2, 2014
    Hello everyone,

I'm a beginner at playing jazz and I'm trying to expand my soloing vocabulary. Right now I'm learning to play Footprints.
    I noticed there's a couple of different versions of the changes at the end of the tune, so I decided on
    Gbm7b5 E7 Em7b5 A7#5 as the changes I'll use.

Trying to solo through the changes, I noticed E Mixolydian doesn't sound that well, even when the E chord is the dominant chord. Raising the #6 helped, but another thing I noticed is that playing the 5th mode of harmonic minor scale fits in great as well. Is there a certain reason why it sounds good in that context?

Also, the other day I was watching this video of a guitar player playing All Blues (). If you skip to 1:40 you'll notice he's playing that same mode over the D7 and Eb7 chords. He also says that the melody suggests the correct scale to use in this case harmonic mode, but I'm not hearing that. Can somebody explain me this as well?

Also, are there certain situations, where this mode can in general be applied?
    Thanks for the help

2. Steve Freides

Steve Freides Former Mannes College Theory Faculty Supporting Member

Dec 11, 2007
    Ridgewood, NJ
    Em7b5, A7#5 - Em, A is ii, V in D minor. You might try a D harmonic minor scale. (If you haven't noticed already, a lot of what's in standards seems to be ii, V.)

-S-

doran.dragic likes this.
  3. Carl Hillman

Carl Hillman

Jan 1, 2010
    The general answer to your question is that the fifth mode of the harmonic minor scale is traditionally paired with a Dominant 7, b9, b13 chord.