Can someone help Re: AMPEG and amp stuff???

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by silverthread, Oct 26, 2000.

1. silverthread

Jul 12, 2000
    Hi, basically I've been playing for about two years now, so I'm pretty serious about playing bass. As a result, this summer I bought a Mex. Deluxe Jazz Bass through eBay, which I'm happy with, but its really alerted me to the fact that I need to get a new amp. At the moment I have a Force 35W, and I'm thinking about what amp to get. I'm not very technically minded, but I'm guessing I'll want a combo. Basically, I need it for band practices (Ie in Garage, med. sized rooms etc) but also for small-med gigs. It needs to be RELATIVELY compact, because I carry it around, and don't want to break my back. I'd like the sound to be fat but punchy, Ie not twangy and sharp, but not just a fuzzy thump either. Since everyone raves about Ampegs, I'm considering getting one. From what my needs are, I'm thinking a B-328. What do you think? What other Ampegs or amps should I consider? It can't be outrageously expensive, becuase I'm still at school, but I'm prepared to pay a descent amount to get a good amp. On a side note, how much change in the sound of my bass can I expect, moving up to this new amp? I like it at the moment, but it doesn't sound quite as strong as I would like. Any ideas???
  2. Hi.I might sound like an Ampeg commercial but I'm not aiming for that.If you decide to buy that specific rig you will spend some money.Ampeg isn't the cheapest gear nor is it the most expensive either.It is however a good investment should you decide to sell it in the future.If you compare a similar Peavey combo to the B328,it would be cheaper but would not have the same value.IF you choose Ampeg,you won't be sorry,there's a reason why many players go with that company.I hope I've been helpful.I'm not a tech wiz,I've been using Ampeg for years and have never had a problem with them.