1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Can someone please explain what went wrong?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by pedalguy1, Sep 4, 2008.

1. pedalguy1

pedalguy1

Jun 3, 2008
    Riverton Utah
    Hey guys, I had a question for all you amp and electronic gurus out there. I was at band practice the other night and flipped on the half stack and heard a strange kinda rattling noise. Im no expert, but i think one the speakers are blown in my 4x10. My amp is the berhringer bx4500, it claims it puts out 450 watts, but berhringer always lists their peak wattages instead of the more accurate RMS wattage. The cab i was running into is an Ampeg SVT 410 He, the one that says classic on the bottom right of the grill. The cab is wired for eight ohms and the power handling on the back says 500 watts. My question is how could the speakers have gotton damaged? the head is 4 ohms, so its not even using all its power. Could it be the voice coil?

2. Scottgun

Scottgun

Jan 24, 2004
    South Carolina
    It's possible to blow anything. For instance, if someone pulls out all the mids (scooping) and then turns up to compensate for being lost in the mix = recipe for disaster.

The rattling is curious however, because I usually associate a blown speaker as completely dead. So I'm not sure what's going on.

3. pedalguy1

pedalguy1

Jun 3, 2008
    Riverton Utah
    could it be the horn? and i do tend to crank the mids, but the clipping light hardly ever came on, and shouldn't the cab be able to handle the eq change?

4. ibnzneksrul

ibnzneksrul

Feb 2, 2007
    So Cal
    Blown speakers don't necessarily just quit, they can make all kinds of fugly noises, rattling included.

5. biohazed

biohazed

Aug 31, 2008
    Philadelphia, PA
    yeah speakers do go all the time i toasted one in my old Hartke 410 cab using a Hartke 4000 head :/

6. pedalguy1

pedalguy1