1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Can we get real for a minute and talk about the blues?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by XrisThaBassman, Dec 25, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Let me start by saying, I love listening to the blues. I dig Clapton, BB, Muddy, SRV, Jimi (is my fav and believe me he KILLED playing the blues), etc. I grew up listening to jump blues, delta blues, chicago blues, white-boy blues - you name it.

But here's the thing. As a bassist, I HATE playing the blues. Maybe I just haven't played with the right people or the right music, but it always seems to be an excuse for a 10-minute guitar wank fest. And maybe 1 out of 10 of those guitarists are worth listening to for 3 minutes, much less 10.

So tell me, bass brethren, am I on point? Am I missing the boat? Let's get real about the blues.

J_Bass, Ellery, exidor and 20 others like this.
  2. I'm my humble opinion, blues should be more about the vocals than an excuse for long guitar solos.

I don't mind a guitar feature instrumental or two during a one hour set, but any shuffle or slow blues that goes on for ten minutes gets old for me and the audience real quick.

Here's a good guitar feature from my old boss:

I'd say your on point. I had a band with some younger guys a few years back. My one comment at the start of the band was "more songs, less solos." I still feel that way.

3. It sounds like the issue is Who you're playing with not what material you're playing.

Talentless players can kill any genre.

BluesOnBass, JRA, old spice and 22 others like this.
  4. bassboysam

bassboysam Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2001
    Ottawa, Ontario
    i can't listen to any of it much less play it. mind numbingly boring

5. Inara

Inara Fierce Fun Fretless Female Supporting Member

Jun 12, 2017
    Seattle, WA USA