1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Can you approve and recomend god takes on standards

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by YaooRobby, Nov 16, 2018.

1. YaooRobby

YaooRobby Commercial User

Oct 28, 2018
    Hi! I'm still a rookie jazz pianist with pretty good knowledge of theory an jazz vocabulary if I can arrange something for example. One big jazz goal right now is to create genuine walking lines as well as the 1 3-feel. In other words besides the independence and groove it cultivates after a long time. I wonder if you could share some real classic badass jazz standard lines to practice alot and analyse to come closer. It would made my month if you could recomend some favorite performances and if I can buy the transcriptions online. Standards like Solar, Scraple from the Apple, Take the A train, Softly as in a morning sunrise, Rhythm Changes etc So can I practice consistent voicings and melodies in the right against some killer bass transcriptions Here's a piano walking etude for example. I just want to ask you how authentic in walking bass line tradition the link provide and which standard it is doesen't matter if you could recomend something sublime badass creative masterful walking piece or resources in general. Preferably with Transcriptions. Thanks

2. wathaet

wathaet

May 27, 2007
    Stella by starlight NHOP/Catherine, album «The viking».
    It is only guitar/bass so it may suit itself to adding piano. Very good version of the song.

3. YaooRobby

Oct 28, 2018