Can you become a decent bassist if you're not creative?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Horgh, Aug 2, 2021.

1. Horgh

Horgh

Aug 1, 2021
    I picked up learning bass again after a 20-year pause, since I failed to really learn to play it when I was in my 20s. I'm determined to succeed now and it's going well, I'm going through the Bass Buzz course and loving it. However, I'm an engineer, an analytical mind, and I don't think I'm particularly creative. I can follow directions really well, I can mimic, I can replicate, I can work within frameworks, but when it comes to creating something new, I've always had serious trouble. I overthink it, I stay within the rules and boundaries others have set. Heck, I just spent 2 days trying to come up with a name for my newly adopted dog, and I settled on Rambo. Sigh.

I'm not fully left brain, though, as I do have an ear for music, I have some imagination, and I'm actually really good at reading people, body language and emotions. I just can't seem to create original content. With that in mind, can I ever become what's considered a decent bassist? I feel like I'm destined to just play what others write, which may be fine, but are there any other engineers here who can relate? I'm not saying song writing is my ultimate goal, but I bet it feels good to come up with riffs that others find interesting or even catchy.

scowboy, bignc, Peter Torning and 7 others like this.
  2. Musical creativity comes with time and experience. Since you come to this after a 20 year absence, thus far, you have neither.

but eventually you will. Keep mimicking. Keep playing covers. Become something of an expert in the greatest hits of your chosen genre(s). I guarantee that when you know the best of what your genre has to offer, and the things that songs within that genre have in common, you will find yourself surprisingly adept at generating proper basslines for original songs in that style.