1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Can you enjoy music as a non musician would ?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by fearceol, Mar 10, 2013.

1. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland
    I am just wondering how pro musicians view (hear) music casually ? What I mean is, if they go to a gig or concert to see their favourite band or artist, do they leave their musician's hat at the door and simply enjoy the music for what it is. Or are they constantly analysing the theory behind the music as it is happening.

I am far from being a pro musician. I have a basic knowledge of theory, and play bass for the sheer enjoyment of it. Granted, as a bassist myself, my attention will be on that musician in the band, to see what technique he uses etc, but generally I will enjoy the music as music, not as say a II V I etc.

The way I see it is, that music is meant to be enjoyed. It can console us when we are sad and enhance our happiness. While it is great to know the nuts and bolts of how music is made, and how to make our own, I think people are missing out on a lot of enjoyment, if they constantly "have their head under the hood, and don't stand back now and then to admire the nice shiny car". ;)

I am not saying that people actually do this. I am simply curious, and would welcome people's views and opinions.

2. cnltb

cnltb

May 28, 2005
    Can you enjoy music as a non musician would ?

These days I can.:)

3. I know what you mean - analyzing the song instead of just enjoying it.

I do think that "knowing" too much can get in the way.

And, I (like many here, I'm sure) focus first on the bass. You know, the part that "regular" people don't even hear.

But, when a song is good - you will know "why" it is good, and maybe even enjoy it MORE than regular folk.

Double edge IMO