Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Can you help me walk over "Milestones"

Discussion in 'Music Theory [DB]' started by ccyork, Dec 21, 2004.

1. ccyork

ccyork

Jan 26, 2004
    USA
    Hi All

I'm very new to playing jazz and I've got a question or two about creating a walking bass line for "Milestones." (I have been studying in "Building Walking Basslines by Ed Friedland.)

I know the tune is in G Dorian. My lead sheet shows the progression like this: Gm7 (Am7) (Bbmaj7) (Am7).

I assume that the parentheses mean that the chord changes are implied, but not explicit?

Do I need to follow all these changes in building my line, or can I just walk on the Gm7 through the whole progression?

Also when walking on a single chord for more than 1 measure do you HAVE to come back to the root on the 1 beat of EVERY measure?

Any help would be much appreciated. I need to come up with something pretty quick. Thanks!

2. One typical treatment is to walk over the G- sections and pedal the bridge or A- section. By pedal, I mean hang around the note A a lot, either with a repetitive rhythm or not. This tends to open or loosen the time feel, with the potential to build tension until you release back to walking. It also helps you keep track of the form (AABBA) which is a major consideration at your stage of development.