1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Can you practice to much???

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by witward, Mar 2, 2008.

1. witward

witward

Feb 7, 2008
    Louisville, KY
    Hello fellow bass players. I'm new to talk bass and this is my first post. OK, Ive been playing bass for around eight years and feel like I'm a solid bass player and have a few tricks up my sleeves, well i came on trying times about a year ago and had to sell my 6 string Tobias. About a month ago i was able to get a fender jazz bass 24. I missed playing bass so much that i have been putting my heart and soul in to practicing everyday for 3-4hrs. I have such a desire to go to the next level in my bass playing and am doing everything in my power to get there. Ok, here is my question, Ive been practicing so much that my forearm and fingers start hurting really bad (not to mention my mind,lol), Now I'm working on my speed and doing scales and tricks as fast as i can and I'm doing them right...not improper. So Can someone practice too much??? I dont want to hurt myself so please let me know what you think and any advice you may have. Thanks.

2. Welcome to TB!

Of course you can practice too much. Just like you can overdo anything.

If it hurts, you've been overdoing it, or doing it wrong.

3. Nick Kay

Nick Kay

Jul 26, 2007
    Toronto, Ontario
    A little soreness after practicing for a long time is not bad. If you're just getting back into the groove of things after a long break, I find that your muscles (ball of the thumb especially, for me) really kill for the first little while, especially if you practice for more than an hour or two.