Can you read music?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by OriginalName, Feb 21, 2005.

1. :D Yes, I can.

I have had a bass teacher since June (two months after I started playing). And after being able to read music, I realized that I hate tabs.
  2. Lowtonejoe

Lowtonejoe Supporting Member

Jul 3, 2004
    Richland, WA
    No, all by ear.

Don't even know how to use a chart.

3. Petary791

Feb 20, 2005
    Michigan, USA
    Well I can read music, I can read tabs, I can learn stuff by ear.

I supposedly have NEAR PERFECT PITCH!!!!! :cool:

Trust me, if you listen to every Metallica inside and out non-stop, you'll be able to hung an E and every note in the Em chord!
  4. Pacman

Pacman Layin' Down Time Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Apr 1, 2000
    Omaha, Nebraska
    Endorsing Artist: Roscoe Guitars, DR Strings, Aguilar Amplification
    Yes. And since this isn't technique related, I'm sending this off to General Instruction.
  5. bass_man86

Apr 29, 2002
    Virginia Beach
    I am sorry to say that I have never learned to read standard notation, although I would love to given the oppurtunity. I prefer to use chords charts whenever available, I will use tab only if I am not clear about a particular passage. All that being said, I have never seen a rock musician playing off of sheet music on stage! ;)
  6. gilbert46

Sep 21, 2004
    Sacramento, CA
    I can read music, but in treble cleft, not bass. I play alto sax as well. Atleast I think i can read music, I can play it, then listen to how it should be played and sulk in my failure :(
  7. Minger

Mar 15, 2004
    Rochester, NY
    I can read alto clef, treble and bass I can kinda because of piano...but not when I'm playing...gotta reteach myself that...
  8. Ben Rose

Ben Rose

Jan 12, 2004
    I read music and get alot of my gigs because I can (read). Now if my ears just didn't suck. Working on that, though.
  9. Richard Lindsey

Richard Lindsey

Mar 25, 2000
    Metro NYC