Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Can't get the mwah on my fretless bass

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by bkchang79, Nov 9, 2002.

1. I have a Dean edge 4 fretless with Rotosound flats and I can't get the mwah sound like the pros. Is it equipment, effects (chorus?), strings, pickups?

2. Brooks

Brooks

Apr 4, 2000
    Middle East
    I am no expert, but let me try...

First, I noticed that strings should sit fairly low at the nut side, lower than on fretted basses. Second, keep the action fairly low, unless you are the kind who really digs in. You tend to get more MWAH when plucking the strings right at the end of the neck. Finally, for max mwah, switch to nickel-plated rounds. I could never get much mwah out of flats.

The rest is up to your technique, both left and right hand.

3. beermonkey

beermonkey

Sep 26, 2001
    Seattle, WA
    road to more love from your fretless:

1. lose the flat wound strings
    2. boost your mids around 250Hz

4. You should be able to hear the mwah clearly unplugged.

5. You also need a fairly straight neck.

6. It's already been said, but flatwounds give you more of a "thump"; go for rounds if you want mwah.

7. I'm doing some major work on my bass right now, epoxy the fingerboard, bartolini preamp, bartolini pickups, with DR nickel sunbeams.

8. moley

moley

Sep 5, 2002
    Hampshire, UK
    I've got TI Jazz Flats on my fretless, they've got pretty good mwah. The lower tension helps for mwah, as does fairly low action. But, ultimately in the fingers (mainly fretting hand fingers). Vibrato has something to do with it too.

9. vanselus

vanselus

Sep 20, 2000
    Boulder, CO
    None
    ugh. i can't stand mwah.

check out Justin Medal-Johansen playing with Beck - now THAT'S sweet fretless!

10. kboyd

kboyd

Jul 6, 2002
    Loranger