Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Can't hear a thing on stage

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by pointbass, Nov 10, 2004.

1. pointbass

pointbass Semi-Retired Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

Nov 4, 2004
    Acworth, GA
    Endorsing Artist: FBB Bass Works
    I'm fairly new to TB and have been enjoying reading through all of the threads. Since it seems that there are a lot of pretty knowledgeable players in here, maybe someone can help me out.

I play a lot of festival type settings, open air locations with big crowds. A lot of the venues have decent sound systems with good monitors, but many do not. When the monitors are lousy, I can't hear myself clearly without turning up on stage and blowing out the rest of the band.

Okay, maybe it's because I'm 2 days older than dirt and after 40 years of pounding out the funk my hearing is shot (advice to young guys .... protect your hearing), but I need to try to find an answer.

So, the question is; What is a decent bass monitor that I can hook up for my own purposes? I've tried moving the amp, tipping it up, turning it around, whatever, and nothing helps. Just for info, I'm using pretty stock stuff, Hartke 3500 with a VX410 & 115, usually a Fender Jazz 5 or an Ibanez SR505.

Anybody willing to help out an old guy? Thanks in advance.

2. Sounds like you need a dedicated bass monitor. Look into a Mesa Bass Wedge (2x10's in a monitor cabinet), but you could also check out standard PA monitors. Some, if not all, should be able to give you a fairly accurate signal and suitable volume.

The other option is to go with an in-ear monitoring system which takes a signal from your bass amp and, via a wireless transmitter, goes to a set of earphones. These work really well. Most wireless manufacturers (Samson, Shure, Carvin, Sennheiser, Nady, etc.) deal with in-ear systems.

3. adam on bass