1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Capacitor values that work well for PJ Bass with Dual Vol/Tones?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Antisyzygy, Dec 29, 2015.

1. Antisyzygy

Antisyzygy

Dec 8, 2014
    Washington
    I am considering trying out a mod on my G&L SB-2. I can always revert that mod easily enough. I'm not an expert but I'm good enough with a soldering iron.

I think I might benefit from having a tone knob available, so I figured why not make the controls looked balanced and go with a dual stacked V/T configuration like on a vintage Jazz bass.

To that end, I had a question, and also was wondering what value of capacitance might work well for each pickup.

For the neck pickup I was thinking a 0.022uf with a resistor in series to keep the tone pot from having the resonant bump occur when rolled off to 0. This is basically exactly like a SB-1s tone pot. I have a SB-1 and I like the way it works so I'm copying that configuration for my neck pickup. It also can serve as a backup then, as I use the SB-1 and it's tone pot a lot.

However the bridge pickup I am not sure what would work the best. Maybe I should keep the resonant bump for that one? Maybe I should use a low-valued cap to bleed off the hum and give a honkier tone when rolled off? I'm not sure. What do you guys think?

Also, does adding dual Vol/Tones cause the pickup interactions to change? I would like to preserve the scoop when both pickups are full on.

2. It's far better to experiment than to try to philosophize about what capacitance to choose. Try a bunch of different values and settle on the ones that work best.

3. Antisyzygy

Antisyzygy

Dec 8, 2014
    Washington
    Hey thanks.

I just figured there might be some preset cut-off freq. that works well with bridge pickups. I'm not sure.