Car Audio thread(a new one)

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by bryan bailey, Mar 27, 2005.

1. I'm just getting my car ready to put my new system in it.

It consists of a...

Alpine CDA-9825 h/u
    Hifonics ZX8000 amp
    2xResonant Engineering RE 12" subs
    Temp sealed box for one of them(RE is on back order for the second)
    Real ported(38hz.) box
    Infinity speaks(don't remember what modeal)
    and a whole buncha wires.

Anyone else dabble in car audio?
  2. Very nice gear. The Australian market is unfortunately expensive and very limited compared to the US. Due to that and being a Uni student, I've managed to deck my car out in Kenwood gear. Made some big mistakes along the way - ie. more speakers are not necessarily better - but thankfully they haven't been too costly. Well, except for the Sony 12" Pentag that appeared to be blown then made a miraculous recovery after sitting in my room for 2 months. :help:

Are the Infinity speakers 6" splits? What sort of car is the gear going in?

3. Hurley

Feb 12, 2004
    Cape Cod, MA
    Sounds like a nice setup, Bryan. :) What is that amp putting out? (Are you gonna use a capacitor?)

I've been using a JL 500/1 with a 12w7. I have mid-level Boston Acoustic speakers in the doors, and some Pioneer deck (y'know, the one that everyone has). Not much, but it does the job. :) I never use the sub anymore, because I'm always needing the cargo room.

4. The amp is 300 watts to the subs, and you only really need a capacitor when you are putting out more than 2000 watts to subs. Anything under that and the capacitor is fairly useless.