Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Carbon Fiber pick guards...

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by sbocaj55, Feb 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sbocaj55

sbocaj55

Feb 11, 2006
    Blacksburg, VA
    So I know I just joined this forum so I don't have any reason to be trusted other than my word and feedback from other forums, but I was interested in making Carbon Fiber pick guards for whatever bass you guys have and want one for. I do a lot of carbon fiber work for automotive-related things, and Think that a carbon fiber pick guard would look amazing on basically any bass out there (not sure about wood-finish though).

What do you guys think? I'll be honest I'm a college student and could use a little extra money on the side, so wanted to offer up my services. Do you guys agree or disagree that it would look cool? I can't post a classified thread though for some reason, so I decided to get people's general opinions here.

2. That'd be badass. But so expensive.

3. i dont think it would be that much more than a Fender made pickguard.....the only question would be consistent fit and finish

4. Carbon Fiber is priced on how it is built. Some CF pieces have multiple players upon multiple layers to add strength and be able to endure stress. A CF PickGuard wouldn't need to endure any riggers where strength is a factor, meaning that it wouldn't need to be multi layered, which means that it can sell for pretty darn cheap. I think a reasonable price would be around $40-$60 for a pickguard, pending on size, and availability of material.

If I had a white strat, or jazz, I'd be all over this!

-ryan-

5. sbocaj55

sbocaj55

Feb 11, 2006
    Blacksburg, VA