1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Career crisis... what would you do?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Rusty Chainsaw, Aug 19, 2007.

1. I've got a bit of a problem I'm hoping some of you might be able to help me with... I've hit a bit of a career crisis, and, at 35, that's proving to be a problem. :)

I'm a web developer. Have been for quite a few years. And, to be honest, I'm not bad at it. But, frankly, developing websites on a full-time basis doesn't really appeal to me any more, and certainly isn't something I can see myself doing for the rest of my working life. It's something I do because I can, not because I enjoy it. I've lost interest in improving my skills, and every day I seem to come up with new ways to procrastinate (when the internet's involved, there's always new ways to waste time. :D ).

There are other things I'm good at - I'm good at writing, I'm good at music (natch), I'm good with people, and I'm good at art. I've considered being a journalist, a teacher or a full-time musician. But I'm scared to try and pursue a job in any of these other fields because I don't have work experience in them, and therefore couldn't command a decent salary. I can't afford the time away from work that I'd need to go to college to get qualified in any of these trades, and my missus is scared of me losing my ability to earn a good wage.

What would you do?