1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Career headache!

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by yehongxiang, Apr 21, 2010.

1. yehongxiang

yehongxiang

Dec 15, 2009
    Singapore
    Hi guys, this is going to be a long post so please bear with me. :)

I'm 23 this year, and am currently working as a junior corporate communications officer in a statutory board for slightly more than a year now. My current jobscope includes managing the website revamp project, corporate video project, facilitating visits from our partners overseas and supporting the senior officers. I'm also doing a Bachelor in Communications concurrently, and will graduate in January 2011.

My boss just gave me the 'what are your plans' speech, and directly asked if I intend to stay after my upcoming graduation. She had previously highlighted, and just reiterated, that she would have no qualms promoting me to a senior officer position (a little backgrounder: in the Singapore public service, you must have at least a Bachelor's qualification to hold a senior position) as long as I continue with my work ethic and quality of work.

Of course, I'm very happy that she values my contribution, but I'm a little concerned. She mentioned that if I'm promoted to a senior position, my jobscope will mostly be analysing our corporate website's statistics/trends, monitoring/predicting online sentiments and giving inputs to the organisation's initiatives from a web-angle. The reason for this is that after working with me for a while now, she observed that I am very comfortable with the web and technology, and should be able to contribute significantly in this area.

I am interested, really, but I'm worried that I am being typecasted at the same time.