Careers with computer drafting

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Bardolph, Feb 28, 2006.

1. Bardolph

Jul 28, 2002
    Grand Rapids, MI
    As crazy and absurd as this may sound, I'm a high school graduate who's not sure what he wants to pursue in college. For this year I'm just working in a guitar/bass store to put away some cash, but I want to go get a degree. I only ever got the chance to take one CAD-oriented class in high school, basic tech drawing, which was pretty simple and introductory, but I did well and really enjoyed the class. I've always been intrigued by drafting and am considering possibly going into it. What kinds of careers are there in drafting? What's the demand like? I'd like to say money doesn't matter, but I honestly do want to be able to support a family. I'm thinking about architecture, and yes, I realize it can be one of those "I want to be a rock star/actor/astronaut/architect" dream realities for some people. I'd like to think realistically, but I do know I have the kind of mind for thinking spacially and logically. I'm looking for schools with good programs for drafting/maybe architecture, not extremely far from Michigan. If anybody has some input on the subject (possibly some people in that field) that'd be great.
  2. nateo

nateo Schubie Fan #1

Mar 2, 2003
    Ottawa, Ontario