1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Carl Factor 6 Fretless

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Jisch, Mar 22, 2019.

1. I just got the remaining hardware in to start on this - a six string version of the Carl Factor.

Wood specs are the same as for my build off bass - walnut/maple neck with walnut/anigre/walnut body with wenge and padauk accents. Tiger maple fingerboard with padauk/wenge accents.

I'm using a Nova bridge again - the one on the fiver works great, good bridge at a good price.

Norstrand pickups and preamp - buyer specifications, I've never used either before.

All I have cut so far is the starting of neck stringers, but I should have it done by Monday, Tuesday at the latest :-D
    20190322_094525.

2. Beej

Beej

Feb 10, 2007
    Victoria, BC
    :roflmao::laugh::D

3. I didn't realize how wide this sixer neck needs to be so I came up a bit short on the width. I went to the depot and got the one perfectly straight board. There were a couple of nicely figured boards there, but they were pretty twisted, so I reluctantly put them back in the rack. The outer stringers are too thick here, but it looks good, all parts are straight, I'll glue it up in the morning after cutting those outside stringers.
    20190322_180729.

tbrannon and Matt Liebenau like this.
  4. Neck blank fresh out of the planer. I love seeing a fresh neck blank with nothing but possibilities ahead.
    20190324_080435.

Beej, JVando, rojo412 and 2 others like this.
  5. 5tring

5tring

Sep 16, 2018
    UK
    Can’t wait to see this happen

6. JVando

JVando

Jul 19, 2010
    New England
    I have a wife, and she sometimes lets me see her naked.
    I second that!

Jisch likes this.
  7. Rôckhewer

Rôckhewer Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 28, 2015
    Mesa, Arizona