Carol Kaye gives Gene Simmons a bass lesson

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Rev J, Aug 26, 2017.

1. Rev J

Rev J

Jun 14, 2012
    Berkeley, Ca.

Oh the irony.

C/S,
    Rev J

2. viribus

viribus Gold Supporting Member

Jan 1, 2011
    Pacific Northwest
    I never actually learned to play very well
    It's amusing no matter how many times it gets posted. :D

BlueAliceOasis and lowdownthump like this.
  3. Rev J

Rev J

Jun 14, 2012
    Berkeley, Ca.
    Sorry I'm new to the party.

C/S,
    Rev J

4. Killed_by_Death

Killed_by_Death Snaggletooth Inactive

The search feature seems to be an under-used function:

upload_2017-8-26_23-5-21.png

Last edited: Aug 26, 2017
    EatS1stBassist likes this.
  5. Marley's Ghost

Marley's Ghost Supporting Member

Feb 9, 2002
    Tampa, FL
    I just watched The Wrecking Crew, spurred by the death of Glen Campbell. Carol is just amazing. Such a legend. If you haven't seen it, go run and see it on Netflix.

MartinzeBassman, SJan3 and viribus like this.
  6. I get the impression that Carol resents that movie (I want to see it). She goes to great trouble make it clear she was a studio musician, and there were a pool of studio musicians who were part of that era.

7. Rocker949

Rocker949

Apr 20, 2005
    USA
    I'm sure Carol Kaye could give a lot of people bass lessons.

8. Rev J

Rev J

Jun 14, 2012
    Berkeley, Ca.
    Really what made it funny to me is that Gene Simmons has made macho disparaging comments about female bassists in the past and here he is being schooled by one.

C/S,
    Rev J

EatS1stBassist, Loring, SJan3 and 4 others like this.
  9. Marley's Ghost

Marley's Ghost Supporting Member

Feb 9, 2002
    Tampa, FL