Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Carpal tunnel syndrome

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by dejavoodoo, Oct 30, 2005.

1. dejavoodoo

dejavoodoo

Mar 29, 2005
    New Mexico
    Hey....
    I just got tested and found that I have carpal tunnel problems, both hands, worse in the left. I've been playing pretty much non-stop for over 35 years and I have no intention of stopping now, long as I can that is. I guess that and all the other things I've done my whole life-machinist work,dirt bikes, all kinds of stuff-have begun to add up so to speak.
    Anyone here dealt with this problem? What did you do? I was wondering if anyone has had the surgery and how it worked for you as well.
    Thanks!! Alan P

2. Akami

Akami Four on the floor

Both my ex and I had this problem several times starting back in the 80's when we were playing 6-8 hour gigs on a regular basis.

I've been able to avoid any kind of surgery, but each time I've had the problems crop up I've had to put a lot of effort into treating my wrist and tendons as if they were injured, and not doing what I've seen so many of my friends do, rubbing them and aggravating the already afflicted area.
    The first few times my ex had the problem we were able to work through it together, but we split several years ago and her attempt to solve it once and for all led to surgery a couple years ago, which as far as I'm aware brought mixed results.

I'll be really interested in hearing any good advice on preventing it from coming up again, but mainly I think it's important to refrain from using to much constant tension on the fingerboard, allowing your tendons to relax whenever it's not necessary to be applying pressure.
    And finally, gentle warm up and cool down are very, very helpful.