Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

carpeting a cabinet

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Bigwig, Jun 29, 2004.

1. Bigwig

Bigwig

Dec 27, 2003
    Grimcity
    i just bought a yorkville 4x10 cab for 150 canadian in the last week, and it sounds awsome, but alot of the outside material is ripped and almost coming apart...i decided im going to carpet it...
    right now on the outside...its finished with that rubbery..bumpy material (sorry im a total noob with this stuff)...
    but i was wondering if i can carpet right over that? cause my guitarist is working at a speaker cabinet warehouse and said that he cud carpet it with some kool colors for real cheap...
    how should i go about this?

2. The stuff that is on there right now is called Tolex. It's not porous, so anything you go to put over it won't sit still for very long, without mechanical anchor (like staples) The carpet is called Ozite...(also fantastic to cover pedalboards with, as it acts like the "loop" side of velcro...

The BEST way to do it is to re-bare the wood, but it's a real p.i.t.a. to get tolex off... short of that, also realize any carpet you put on will translate the current surface thru it...so you will not get an even new surface.

if that's not a problem for you, you will at least have to prep the current tolex by scuffing the crap out of it so the new adhesive will have something to bond to. Also realise if the original tolex decides to delaminate, it will bubble and sag the carpet over it as well.

So if you can, get a heat gun, and a putty knife, and try to loosen ands work off the tolex. Not too long on any one spot with the heatgun, aas you could either melt or scorch the tolex causing more problems (and bad fumes) or you could weaken glue joints in the cab construction itself. It's gonna be messy and sticky.