1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Carvin and Avatar

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by totallybacan, Apr 13, 2009.

1. totallybacan

totallybacan

Mar 30, 2009
    I'm a high school student working a part-time job that plays about 2 gigs a week. small to medium sized gigs where PAs are not always available. i want to upgrade my whole rig but have it easily separated into chunks. for this i was looking at the carvin b1500 head and either carvin 12's or avatar 12's. Unless there is another product for the same price or less, i only want to know which one i should be looking at. I was able to open up for he is legend this weekend and their bassist uses 812's and there is no lack of low end, so im not looking for anything bigger than a 12. portability is also an issue since my band is going on tour in a small van. any opinions?

2. Lia_G

Lia_G

Oct 27, 2005
    If you're dead set on 12's and those two brands, it will have to be Avatar. Carvin doesn't have bass cabs with 12" drivers available currently, as they discontinued them a while back.

Liam

3. Jaco who?

Jaco who?

May 20, 2008
    A pair of the 8 ohm 2x12 Avatars would work, if you're prudent with the EQ. If you like the B1500, you might consider a pair of the LS1503 PA cabinets. I know you said no bigger than a 12", but at 319 bucks each and recommended amplifier power of 600-700 watts each they would be killer with that head and an amazing value.

4. totallybacan

totallybacan

Mar 30, 2009