1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Carvin B50 or Lakland DJ5?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Dr. Cheese, Jun 6, 2014.

1. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Gold Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    The cheapskate in me has to ask if anyone can compare a B50 to a DJ5? Every time I think of a nice Jazz, I think of the options I can get on a B50 for around $900, and I ask myself, "why not save a whole lot of money?"

2. mmbongo

mmbongo Five Time World Champion Supporting Member

Aug 5, 2009
    Carolinas
    In my opinion, the Lakland wins on looks alone. Those B50's look so generic to me. The 35" scale of the Lakland is also a big advantage..to me, anyway.

SanDiegoHarry likes this.
  3. Phalex

Phalex Semper Gumby Supporting Member

Oct 3, 2006
    G.R. MI
    I never bought anything Carvin that I didn't love. I have no practical experience with the B50, but I'd have great confidence if I were to order one.

What's the string spacing on the B-50? I know you like em wide. My AC-50 is kinda narrow. Great bang for the buck, but narrow.

4. Dr. Cheese

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    Both the B50 and DJ5 are 19mm at the bridge.

5. Phalex

Oct 3, 2006
    G.R. MI
    That's a sticky wicket..... Carvin necks are super nice...... The electronics are good, but I dunno if they stack up against the DJ.

6. Dr. Cheese

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    To be honest, I love the DJ5 with both pickups on. It had one of the liveliest slap tones I have ever heard on a passive bass. The tone of the back pickup soloed was underwhelming. It doesn't come close to the tone of my fretless MIM Fender Jazz. I also noticed that the headstock paint was uneven on the edge close to the fingerboard. This bothers me for bass that costs close to $1,500 after tax.

7. diglo

diglo Supporting Member

May 21, 2007
    SMYRNA, TN
    Get up! Get Get Get Down!