1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Carvin Bass Preamp - change frequencies?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by markblasco, Jun 29, 2007.

1. I've got a Carvin 5 string bass I built from a kit. It has a 3 band EQ, which is supposed to be bass, mid, and treble. The problem is that the bass and mid knobs sound pretty much exactly the same, as if the wrong parts were put in to determine the frequencies.

I have enough electronics experience to change out the components in order to get a different set of frequencies, but I don't know which ones to change, and what to change them to.

Does anyone here have any experience with one of these preamps, or have any ideas about what i will need to change? Thanks!

2. doctorjazz

doctorjazz

Oct 22, 2006
    Wilmington, NC
    I can't give you any kind of specifics as I have zero experience with this, but it sounds like you've probably got the same capacitor on your bass and mid knobs. You could call and ask them about it, or do some experimenting yourself, Carvin customer service has been very helpful in my experience. Which are they both doing, bass or mids?

3. They both seem to be giving me more bass. I don't know what frequency it is centered at - I usually just leave it at the mid point and don't worry about it, but I would like to start doing some more tonal experimenting, so changing it would help me out a lot.

4. A9X

A9X

Dec 27, 2003
    Australia
    You'll need the schematic and then someone to calculate out the values of a cap or two, then to solder them onto the PCB.

5. greenboy

greenboy

Dec 18, 2000
    remote mountain cabin Montana
    greenboy designs: fEARful, bassic, dually, crazy88 etc
    They don't sound the same. But if your rig isn't especially capable of lower audio detail because of midbass hump or fairly high cutoff I can see why you'd think that.