Carvin Buzz

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Deicide666, Aug 14, 2000.

1. Deicide666

May 1, 2000
    Im running a Carvin ProBass 500 head through a 4 ohm 2x10 cab and an 8 ohm 1x15 cab. When i play at lower levels its fine, but when i turn it up a bit (to like 3 or 4) i get a buzz or rattle(?) from it. I think its coming from the 2x10 but im not sure. Any advice?
    Also, my cabs say they can handle 400 watts (thats the lower of the two) and I'm only putting out 250 watts at most right now (not bridged). When i cranked it, I thought they would be fine, but they distorted like hell. Why cant a 400 watt cab run cleanly through 250 watts of power? Thanks for any help.
  2. OK, I think this was covered on another thread,but when you hook up a 4 Ohm speaker to an 8 Ohm speaker,you are running the amp at 2.67 Ohms.Perhaps the Carvin can't take that low of an Ohmage.Also the distribution of power to the different cabs is not equal unless you are Bi-Amping.
    I'm no techie, this is bassically what I have learned on this website. I'm sure someone out there can give you a better answer. Anyone???
  3. timv

timv Supporting Member

Jun 7, 2000
    Chandler, AZ
    Running them both like that the 2x10 is getting twice the power of the 1x15 and he is right about maybe running the amp to too low of an impedance. Also, if you are running only 250 watts to cabinets that by themselves can handle 400 you may just be underpowering them and that can create the distortion. It is actually better to slightly over power a cab than underpower it. It might be a good idea to get an 8 ohm 2x10 instead of the 4 cause you want more power or at least equal going to the 15 to produce the low notes well.
  4. Deicide666

May 1, 2000