carvin cabs

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by SuperDuck, Nov 30, 2000.

1. SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    i'm a poor college student, and right now i'm playing through a crappy peavey tnt130 which is basically falling apart. i'm looking into getting a new amp, probably a head/cab setup, and i've seen that carvin is pretty cheap. i guess you can get a 2x10 with horn for $299 and a 4x10 for $399, which is decent compared to what i've seen. i just want some feedback from any owners, like, are they crap? i know that carvin makes good basses, i just want to see if their amps are any good. i've heard mixed reviews of their redline bass heads, if anyone has any comments about those i would appreciate it
  2. CaptainWally

CaptainWally Supporting Member

Oct 21, 2000
    Sandy Eggo, CA
    I think they sound pretty good! The thing
    about most of the Carvin stuff I've played,
    including the basses and amps alike, is that
    the quality is 90% of the "premium" comparable
    gear, but the price is only half (IMHO blah
    blah blah).

The other option is to buy a "premium" used
    cabinet. As it turns out, I just HAPPEN to
    be selling an Eden 2x10 XLT for $350. Email
    me if you're interested.

Good luck!
  3. BassDude24

Sep 12, 2000
    I have heard the same thing about Carvin, that their amps and bass' are like 90% of premium, but for the price, I think that they are premo equpitment. I myself don't have much cash (in high school) and I have used a Carvin PB200-15 for three years and the biggest problem I have had so far was when somebody I know thought that it would still work after he pulled the ground plug out and he blew a fuse of mine. None the less, I also play a carvin bass and love the thing.

4. MikeyD

Sep 9, 2000