1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Carvin Icon 5 strings Upgrade

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Josbass1980, Dec 26, 2016.

1. Josbass1980

Josbass1980

Dec 25, 2016
    I have a Carvin Icon 5 strings, I'm planning to upgrade this bass guitar (pickup and preamp) and I need advice, What do you recommend? There are many options and I have no experience. I would appreciate your advice.

Peru2015 likes this.
  2. LiquidMidnight

LiquidMidnight

Dec 25, 2000
    I'm interested in this as well. I have both an Icon 5 and LB75 with the newer Carvin preamp. I must say that I have love/hate relationship with the newer Carvin pres. They sound great, but I find the sweepable mids frustrating - it's real easy to go from boxy and thin to boomy and muddy; finding the sweet spot can sometimes be a challenge. I have an older LB75 and XB75, and I actually really like the simple three-band EQs on them. The mid EQ is perfect, IMO.

Peru2015 likes this.
  3. Toptube

Toptube Supporting Member

Feb 9, 2009
    The pIckups in the Icon are "P2" shape.

Keep in mind that the "standard" neck for the Icon 5 string, has narrow string spacing. 17mm. This will limit some of your pickup choices.

I like the newer Kiesel/Carvin pickups. Especially the single coils. However, if I were to buy another brand, I would probably try the new Nordstrand Big Blades. They still have a radius, like the Kiesel pickups. But their tone is very different. Nordstrand's dual coil neo also seems interesting.

Peru2015 likes this.
  4. Icon5

Icon5

Feb 24, 2009
    PA
    I put an OBP-3 in mine along with the Carvin Rad-Js (single coils). It sounds MUCH better if you ask me.

Peru2015 and Mystic Michael like this.
  5. Mystic Michael

Mystic Michael Hip No Ties

Apr 1, 2004
    New York, NY