Carvin strings?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Jon Chewning, Jul 26, 2001.

1. Apologies if this has been covered before, but I'm ordering some stuff thru Carvin and noticed they have some 6-string sets, nickel plated, gauged: .029, .040, .060, .080, .100, .128
    for only $14.99. Anyone recommend these or should I save my money?
  2. seamus

Feb 8, 2001
    I tried them at one time and found them to be pretty decent. Nickel is not my preference, but I was more impressed with them than most other nickels I had tried. I also found them a tiny bit more coarse than most nickels, but they felt good.

I believe Carvin's 5 and 6 string rounds are Labella Super Steps. Try comparing gauges from the Carvin sets to the Super Step fives and sixes on Labella's site, perfect match.
  3. Well I did notice that Carvin sells LaBellas on their website, so I guess it follows that the Carvins might be repackaged LaBellas. I've never used nickels before but I wanted to try a few sets on my fretless to try and minimize the wear on the fretboard. If they work out tonewise, great. If not I'll revert back to stainless and just deal with a fretboard replaning down the line.
  4. seamus

Feb 8, 2001
    What kind of stainless strings are you using? Only reason I ask is because I use DR Lo Riders and find they have exceptional feel for a stainless string. They are far less abrasive than my other favorite string, Roto 66's, which has got to be the coarsest string I've ever played.

Still, I'll always keep some 66's around. They have such a wonderfully raw rock sound, albeit, a little bright out of the box.

I gotta admit, the Carvin strings are a steal for that price. If you find you like them, those 2 set packages could really save you some dough. :)
  5. Mike

Sep 7, 2000
    I've used Carvin strings with good results. They have a very tight piano like tone, with high definition. Ultimately, however, the decision will be made by you.