Cell phones..

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by mark beem, Jun 25, 2003.

1. mark beem

mark beem Gold Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2001
    New Hope, Alabama
    I was just wondering if anyone here has opted to terminate their land line service and decided to go strictly wireless..

I work in the telecom industry so I'm really curious.
  2. NJL

Apr 12, 2002
    San Antonio
    i did when i had my house, now i live with my girlfriend and she has a landline and cell
  3. Bob Clayton

Bob Clayton Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Aug 14, 2001
    Deptford, NJ
    im 16....i have a cell....but i have no choice to get rid of teh landline....my mom's house
  4. I am not a big phone guy...if I lived by myself,I'd prob just get a house phone...and thats it.

5. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    I don't have a cell phone, and I hope I can put it off for some time. I already spend too much money in the communications sector.

It's still too expensive, and the high prices in Germany will not drop, since the companies paid ridiculous amounts of money for UMTS licences.
  6. secretdonkey

Oct 9, 2002
    Austin, TX
    I negotiated with my wife to terminate our land line phone when we switched from DSL to cable modem internet service. She admitted she was just too weirded out by the idea of not having a landline phone.

Our phone service is at THE absolute minimum, however (dual income, no kid household). We are using a "measured" plan and are allotted a certain number of outgoing calls each month. No long distance service, no features like call waiting or caller ID.

The only thing that line gets used for is to take calls from telemarketers and acquaintances without our cell numbers who look us up in the phone book. I'll occasionally use it to make 800 number calls to support lines where I expect to be on hold for a long time... that's about it.
  7. jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000
    San Francisco, CA