Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Cello and Bass

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by EvilBassPlayer, Mar 31, 2002.

1. Hi community!

I've been playing bass for over 5 years, using 4 and 5 strings basses almost all my time playing. Im very loyal to my instrument and I practice every day, like any good bassist ;)

Someday, listening an Apocalyptica CD, i figured out that I love the sound of Cello and must be a great instrument to play (besides bass), so, im excited with the idea of buying a Cello and take some lessons, what do you think? weird, uh?

I grow up with the idea that bass players always choose Upright when they look for something more "classy", because it's closer to their main instrument or the opposite.

My question: Im really doing the right thing? Learning to play an instrument that shares nothing with electric bass? :confused:

Thank you for take your time and read this!

EBP

2. Erlendur Már

Erlendur Már

May 24, 2000
    If you want it, you should definitely go for it!

3. ARA punk

ARA punk

Jul 11, 2001
    USA, Shelby, NC
    Play whatever you want. Aside from bass i play guitar, keyboard, and the freaking drums for crying out loud. As long as you are making a good sounding racket you are at no fault.

4. Josh Ryan

Josh Ryan - that dog won't hunt, Monsignor. Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 24, 2001
    Actually, i've always thogh the cello was closer to the electric bass than the doghouse. I also think the saxaphone is a close match.

5. b0nes83

b0nes83

Dec 14, 2000
    this has nothing to do with this at all...but....the cello in my opinion is the most sexiest instrument out there. i wont have to get into detail here..but im sure could agree. peace
    Chad

6. CamMcIntyre

CamMcIntyre

Jun 6, 2000
    USA