1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Cerwin Vega

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Pickinator, Jan 5, 2012.

1. Pickinator

Pickinator

Dec 28, 2011
    Eagle River WI
    As some might know, I have been a drummer for a much longer time than a bass player and was in a band whose bass player had 2 large Cerwin Vega cabs. I believe they may have had inverted 18's in them? Correct me if I'm wrong. He also had a couple of horn drivers. They had awesome power. He could make the whole place just throb with sound and talented. The cabs were red.

I was just wondering if there are any old Cerwin fans hiding among us?:eyebrow: Although I haven't been here at Talkbass long, I haven't seen anything written about Cerwin Vega.

Are Cerwins good at producing the lows and not so good at articulating the mids and highs.

Killer Of Giants likes this.
  2. Ric Vice

Ric Vice Supporting Member

Jul 2, 2005
    Olivette, Missouri
    Pickinator,
    Cerwin Vega is still very much in business, with professional line products, and the cabinet logos are still red. CERWIN VEGA PRO AUDIO

In the 70's they did have a pretty good rep for bass enclosures and they did make an 18" folded horn.

Attached Files:

3. fishtx

fishtx Supporting Member

Mar 30, 2007
    Dallas, TX
    Endorsing Artist: Genzler Amplification/Spector Basses/Mojo Hand FX
    back in the 70's, I used a Sunn Concert Bass head and a Cerwin Vega B36MF cab (folded 18 with a front loaded 12)...

I remember it being a big loud rig, that was a touch mid honky...I wish I still had it though...lol

4. SO DID I, then a Cerwin Vega bg250 head...prefered the Sunn

Attached Files:

fourteenstrings likes this.
  5. Pickinator

Pickinator

Dec 28, 2011
    Eagle River WI