1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Change of genre to fix lack of motivation?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by metallist, Sep 27, 2009.

1. Hello fellow TB's.

I am sort of lost musically at the moment and got thinking - would a change of music genre/style fix the issue?

If it helps, I give you a little back ground on myself:
    I've been playing bass for well over 7 years; mostly heavy metal/hard rock (think a mixture of Opeth, Tool, early Metallica and most recently Dream Theater). Got decent gear (Schecter Studio 6, GK700RBII, GK4x10, Ampeg BSE115 and a healthy pedal board - damn you Justin Chancellor!). I play with fingers and can use a pick (fingers are my preferred weapon). I can't read music - although I'd love to learn, just never get around to it. Can't slap (don't want to) but can intermediately tap. I don't know I great deal of theory either.

I consider myself to be good - but no John Myung.

Ultimately I'd love to learn how to solo on bass and improve on the spot.

If there is any other info I can provide - please ask; after all - I am enlisting in you all for assistance!

:help:

Cheers, Simon

2. Bootzilla

Bootzilla

May 4, 2009
    It will probably work. Some suggestions:
    Electro (try Justice, their live album "A cross the universe" is brutal)
    Jazz (this could motivate you to learn how to improvise but it requires a lot of practise)
    Indie (try some arctic monkeys and or The Killers)

Other bands you could try: Queens of the stone age, Dead Weather, The last shadow puppets, Frans Ferdinand, The Kooks, Datarock and Klaxons.

Try to be open to new sounds and really listen to it before discarding it as noise or soft poppy cr*p or something.

3. Learn how to read sheet music.

4. afromoose

afromoose Guest

Get into zouk

5. pbd

pbd Commercial User

Jul 17, 2003
    Metro Detroit
    owner Procables N Sound