1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

changing a tube in an SWR bass350

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by brianmharrison, Apr 6, 2009.

1. brianmharrison

brianmharrison

Oct 11, 2007
    Atlanta
    All of my previous amps have been all solid state so I'm new to this tube thing. I'm pretty electronically inclined so I think I can do this my self.

From what I've read changing a preamp tube is pretty easy and is just a matter of buying the right tube (in this case a Groove Tubes 12AX7A), opening the amp up, taking the metal cover off (if there is one), taking the old one out and putting the new one in holding it with a piece of cloth.

Do I have it right? am I missing anything? Is there anything special I need to know before attempting to change the tube in a silverface SWR bass 350 (not x)

I just want to make sure I don't screw anything up.
    Thanks!
    Brian

2. 810wmb

810wmb

Jan 29, 2000
    you are correct...unplug the amp too.

i changed the pre-tube in my bass 350 years ago. bought a nos something or other...i noticed a *slight* difference

good luck!

3. mrniceguy715

mrniceguy715

May 2, 2006
    oklahoma
    In the redface I had you just remove all of the screws that hold the case on and the rack handles. Gently remove the case as not to scratch it all up. Then (with the amp cool of course) pull the old tube out and firmly press the new one in place.

4. Bardley

Bardley

Nov 16, 2007
    Louisville, KY
    And FWIW, you don't have to use a Groove Tubes. You can use any 12AX7 you want. They will all sound slightly different. I replaced the 12AX7 in my SWR SM-500 a few years ago with a Tung Sol and it really beefed up the mids. It also gave me a bit more gain. I loved it. I have also used the JJ/Tesla ecc83s and it sounds great.

Lots of choices here: