1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Changing Main Instruments

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by max23k, Aug 1, 2012.

1. max23k

max23k

Aug 1, 2012
    So I have been studying Music Education for the past 2 years at college and I have two years left to my degree :) My goal with what I will be doing with this degree is kind of undecided as of now, but for sure I know I will be teaching privately in my home or be teaching music theory and conducting bands in highschools.
    My main instrument was piano simply because when I started my first year at community college before transferring the head of the department was a Beethoven-classical-music maniac who preferred music majors to have "classical" instruments. AND it was the instrument I have been playing the longest. So I chose piano :p
    But as I studied piano during college I never had teachers whom I admired or who made me love what I do. In fact, most of the piano instructors I had look like they hate their job. I am honestly not enjoying piano and would rather do bass guitar! I have been playing the bass for the past 6 years and wished that I had started college with bass guitar as my main instrument. After talking with my advisor it is not too late for me to change main instruments from piano to bass. Her only concern with that is that when applying for jobs after I graduate, bass guitar will not be as impressive as piano and I will have a difficult time for looking for jobs. BUT it is not like I do not know the piano. I don't know...is this a wise decision? Changing my instrument in my junior year from piano to bass. I LOVE my bass!:bassist:

2. You are correct your teaching certificate will come in handy.

It is my understanding most other instrument take piano as their second instrument. So you are OK here.