Changing my major... need advice

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by hateater, Oct 29, 2003.

1. hateater

hateater snatch canadian cream

May 4, 2001
    Eugene, OR
    I am currently enrolled in a Jr. College, and I am majoring in Architechture (ugh... i can't even spell it). Lately I have come to realize that Arch isn't really something that I would enjoy doing... but on the other hand, I am pretty much gauranteed a comfortable living.

I have a friend who is majoring in animation, and that seems like something that is more up my alley. I am not the best artist, but I think that I definatley have some talent. The only thing is, I am not sure if it is wise to switch from something that promises me financial security to something that is sort of iffy... any thoughts on this?
  2. A couple of thoughts.

I majored in Psychology and minored in Music.

You can Major in Arch and minor in Animation, your credits in general ed will go towards both, but not all.

Talk it over with a guidance counselor from youtr JR college and they can help direct you in your studies.

Best regards to you.

3. Ty McNeely

Ty McNeely

Mar 27, 2000

It really depends on YOU. To be honest, I don't think anyone's career decision should be based on income, but the fact of the matter is that you must provide for yourself (and probably a family) in one way or another.

I don't know what year you are, but assuming you are not a junior or senior, you really DO NOT have to pick a major right now. Picking a major does *not* mean you pick a career at the same time. For example, you could major in Animation and still go to medical school as long as you fulfilled all the requirements. Explore *all* majors and see where they can lead. Don't just "settle" for something because it sounds good.