changing strings

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by cheviot, Jan 9, 2001.

1. cheviot

Sep 2, 2000
    just a very general query about changing strings on me bass. how often should i do it? someone told me every few weeks!!?? seems to often but i don't know much.
    also what are good (and cheapish, i'm a student) strings to get?

sorry i know nothing, but i'm trying to learn
  2. Oysterman

Mar 30, 2000
    String changing has a very simple rule. You change strings when you think it's necessary. If they break, wind up or just start to sound goofy, it's time. I change strings about two or three times a year, and that's all I need.
    Some people change every other week, just because they prefer the sound of new strings. Whereas I only change when I'm supposed to do recording or when they simply are worn out.
  3. Oysterman

Mar 30, 2000
    Oh, cheap strings... I know Carvin sells cheapish strings online... I've heard they suck, but then, they ARE cheap. Darco and Everly are cheap brands too.

If you won't ask, you won't learn. :)
  4. membranophone

Mar 19, 2000
    Madison, WI
    D'Addario XLs are cheap and sound beautiful.
  5. Oysterman

Mar 30, 2000
    :eek: I'll be damned... I had a look at and... they ARE cheap in the US! Talk about a lot of tone for the money! My favourite strings! :)

They cost more than twice as much here... mumble mumble :mad:
  6. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

I buy all my strings through the internet from in the US and they are always at least half the price I would pay in England, even allowing for shipping and packing! :eek: