Changing Strings

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Maidenrulz, Jul 11, 2001.

1. Hey everyone,
    I am a new bass player and have been playing for like 2 months and I hear that most people change their strings every 3 months so that time is coming up and I have no clue how to change them! I know you all think I am a f*c*i*g moron but I don't want to **** anything up. Also what type of strings are good to use, like i said I am new at this. Any responses welcome
  2. Jodaka

Jun 28, 2001
    Riverview, FL
    how often you change strings should really depend on how often you play, and especially how often you play out. i usually change my strings at least every 2 months.

on my 4 string, i like the blue steels. i try different brands, on occasion, but i always end up going back to the blue steels. i haven't had my 5 string for very long, but i am currently using dr's. i've tried a few different types, but i haven't gotten hooked on a particular set of strings yet, like i have for my 4 string. i've tried blue steels on them, but i didn't like the b string, so i've kept looking around. (i really like the dr's, but have only had them on for 2 weeks, so i haven't been sold on them yet, but i'm close.)

as for changing your strings, make sure you bend the string at least 45 degrees before you cut them. round cores have a habit of slipping (from what i've heard). i'm not sure if the hex cores have the same problem, but i would recommend the same for those. i measure about an index finger's worth of string past the peg (i have long, skinny fingers) or so, and cut there. stick the string in the peg and wrap. there's not much to it. also, i recommend wrapping them slowly, i'm not sure how everyone else does it, but that's how i personally do it. also, i choose the direction of the wind for the placement on the nut. i.e. pegs on the top side get wrapped the same direction, but opposite from the direction on the bottom side.

hope this isn't too confusing...