Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Changing Transmission Fluid

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by LajoieT, Aug 29, 2005.

1. LajoieT

LajoieT I won't let your shadow be my shade...

Oct 7, 2003
    Western Massachusetts
    Is this something I can do myself? I looked around the web and found some information, but it appears that much of the instructions vary wildly from model to model. It generally didn't sound too difficult (I've been doing my own Oil Changes and A/C recharging for over 10 years now...) but there were a LOT of different methods mentioned, from removing the pan to drain it (and change the screen while you've got it off) to draining it out of the main line going to the radiator, to finding the fill and drain plug and doing it that way (which sounds like the most reasonable answer, but didn't look like it did a good job at getting everything out. They also say to refill it through the dip-stick tube?!?!?!?!??! I KNOW I don't have a funnel ANYWHERE near that small!!!!

Can anyone point me to a reputable instructional web site? In case it matters, we're dealing with a 1995 Nissan Pathfinder 4WD with the Automatic Trans. but if it goes well I'll also be doing my wife's 2002 Hyundai Elantra 5speed Manual.

2. syciprider

syciprider Banned

May 27, 2005
    Inland Empire
    Go to the nearest Kragen or Chief's and buy the Chilton manual for your car. This book will have just about every maintenance or repair procedure for your ride.

Read the portion on tranny fluid replacement and buy the necessary tools and oil. It's a very easy job.

You will probably need to rent time on a lift.

3. Selta

Selta

Feb 6, 2002
    Pacific Northwet
    Total fanboi of: Fractal Audio, AudiKinesis Cabs, Dingwall basses