Changing Your TB Name

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Paul Warburton, Dec 7, 2004.

1. I guess i'm gonna be the one to bring this up.
    I've read your posts and understand that you're a guitar luthier. But, i also have to say that I find it awkward to communicate with you as Lex Luthier because one of our great double bass luthiers, Jeff Bollbach, has been using that as a signature name for many years.
    I'm not trying to start a scene and I welcome you to TBDB!
    It just seems a bit awkward.
  2. Marcus Johnson

Marcus Johnson

Nov 28, 2001
    Imagine how Gene Hackman must feel.
  3. Ben Joella

Ben Joella

May 31, 2004
    Boca Raton, FL
    O.k. but is there a way to change the name with out having to toally re-register? :eyebrow:
  4. Steve Swan

Steve Swan

Oct 12, 2004
    Burlingame, California
    Retailer: Shen, Sun, older European
    Before I started playing bass again in 1998 after a several years layoff due to tendinitis, I worked in a guitar store in the San Francisco Bay Area. One of the owners is very heavily invested in being the authority and having the last word. He repeatedly claimed that "Double Basses" were 4/4 basses only because they were the biggest!

About 3 years after I left that store, I started playing again and came across the note about doubling the cello line somewhere, maybe in one of Elgar's great little bass books.

Steve Swan
  5. Matt Ides

Matt Ides

May 12, 2004
    Minneapolis, MN

6. Alexi David

Alexi David

May 15, 2003
    People here call me "Mingus" for short - that wasn't my intention!!! :)
  7. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    Quadritto. Hes not terribly hardcore about this kind of thing at all. Helping support the site would be a nice gesture as well for those who aren't supporting members yet, and the TB coffee travel mugs you get by way of compensation are worth the price of admission on their own. :)