Chapman Stick

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Guitbass, Feb 15, 2003.

1. Guitbass

Guitbass Guest

Jan 22, 2003
    Atlanta, GA USA
    Okay so technically it's not a bass or should I say just a bass. I just ordered one from Stick Enterprises. I've been playing an old Ironwood 10 string for a few months and took the plunge for a new 10 string XG. Also got the SP13 preamp. Now to wait until May until they arrive! Any other stickists out there? Anyone know of a place in the Atlanta area to take lessons?
  2. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    check out the links at

There should be some forums and email discussion groups that can help you find a teacher.
  3. Check out my buddy used to use a stick and found that the warr guitars are much better in sound and playing ability. He is listed on the artists page with his. (Vega$)
  4. Dirty Road Cola

Dirty Road Cola Guest

Sep 8, 2000
    Gainesville, FL
    Hey, uh, he said he already bought another Stick, not that he was looking to get another...

but I second JMX's advice and say go to
  5. HeavyDuty

HeavyDuty Supporting Curmudgeon Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2000
    Suburban Chicago, IL
    I have an unhealthy interest in Sticks, but am forcing myself to avoid them until I master the bass... which should only take another hundred or so years.
  6. I ordered a new one a few weeks ago and I'm waiting for a used one (10-string Ironwood #1410). I've been fascinated by those intruments for the last 10 years... can't wait to put my mitts on one!

If anybody's interested in seeing a great demonstration of the Stick's possibilities, check out this trio of Greg Howard videos... the guy is a monster:
  7. coyoteboy

coyoteboy easy there, Ned Supporting Member

Mar 29, 2000
    Sactomato, CA
    Interestingly, I've found somewhat the opposite to be true, at least in my case. I don't think you'll be dissappointed when the XG arrives.
  8. DigMe

Aug 10, 2002