Cheap accoustic bass recommendations

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Absentia, Sep 2, 2009.

1. Absentia

Absentia

Feb 25, 2009
    Alright I have serious GAS for an acoustic bass, nothing fancy, fact the cheapest I can get, just something to drag around the house and the campfire.

Looking on musicians friend I see craptastic rogue, dean and few others but I have no experience with them and the GCs around me don't stock them.

Anyone have any suggestions on a cheapo acoustic bass preferably under 250$.

Rogue looks pretty but I'm unsure
    http://bass-guitars.musiciansfriend...4-AcousticElectric-Series-II-Bass-?sku=512223

any suggestions?

2. Ibanez AEB10 used.

I've owned counteless.. only under $250 bass I'd buy again.

Next step up in price point is a Michael Kelly Dragon Fly..

Both of them competed very well with my $2500+ basses once setup, plugged and plugged in.

T.

3. Gintaras

Gintaras

Dec 11, 2004
    Kent Island, Md.
    The Dean playmate for $199.00 I played it one day while trying out about 5 different acoustics. It was as loud or louder than all of the basses that I played. You should buy the one you play. I have read that the quality control is not great. Also the electronics are not that great, but you were asking for a campfire bass and this would probably do it.

4. Absentia

Absentia

Feb 25, 2009
    right but I doubt I'll be able to find one used anytime soon.
    450$ new is a little high.

hows the aeb5e in comparison?

5. Michael kellys acoustic has a really great sound and you can also adjust the neck depending on your play style. I own the bayou resonator myself and although I love the tone I probably would recommend the vanilla acoustic over the bayou.

6. Absentia

Absentia

Feb 25, 2009

really something that has 4 strings and is loud enough to play with a djimbe and guitar, never plugged in and sit next to me on the couch for practice would do it.
    And not make me cry if someone trashed it.

7. Turock

Turock