1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Cheap/affordable double bass

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by josiah goldfish, Jan 10, 2012.

1. I'm new to the double bass (being an electric bassist) but I seriously want to play double bass. However I'm short on cash and can't find one under £360. Does anyone know of a cheaper one? Thanks for your help.

2. Violen

Violen Instructor in the Vance/Rabbath Method Banned

Apr 19, 2004
    Kansas City Metro Area
    Endorsing Artist: Conklin Guitars (Basses)
    This community is in the process of creating a newbie guide for people just like you!

but let me give you the really quick answer.

360 pounds is probably not enough to buy an instrument that wont be completely horrible. The accepted "Starter" range for a new double bass, usually plywood, is 1500 dollars american.

You may find used ones cheaper, but steer clear from most of those sales on ebay. Other forum users would request you use the search function to look for previous threads, and i do too, but let me put this in perspective.

For the same price, you can have an american fender strat, or in the terms of relevance, a double bass that would be the equivalant in playability to the 80 dollar cheep korean knockoff of said strat. You know, those pawn shop guitars that are freaking terrible?

3. bssist

bssist

Jun 23, 2007
    St. Louis, MO USA
    a) http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f1/ba...-please-read-before-posting-new-topics-43093/

2) Where are you located? Fill in your profile

III) 3 links from the right where it says "search" fill in "cheap bass" and press enter.

Good luck.

4. bssist

bssist

Jun 23, 2007
    St. Louis, MO USA