1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Cheap bass rig

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by CN2667, Mar 15, 2018.

1. CN2667

CN2667

Mar 15, 2018
    Im a guitarist and I just recently purchased a bass to play around on but I would eventually like to play with a band if I see something interesting.
    So I want to put together a bass rig and I want to go the used route. There is a peavey mark iii on ebay that I was contemplating.
    peavey mark iii series Bass Amp head | eBay

Do you guys think this would be a decent sounding head for the price? And would it be loud enough in a band setting/small gigs?

2. waveman

waveman

Sep 25, 2008
    What budget?

Yes, it should be loud enough given the right speakers. But there are so many choices now days

3. CN2667

CN2667

Mar 15, 2018
    Thanks. Im trying to keep it under 400 for a head and a small cab. I will check those sites out.

4. I own a couple of olde GC Acoustic B200 rigs

6 band semi parametric Tons of tone and volume too with DI to PA if needed
    Handles low B excellently
    Very affordable as used

5. Gremson

Gremson

Mar 22, 2012
    North-Leftern USA
    You definitely got one thing right.

Cheap bass rig = Peavey

I shagging love Peavey amps.

Edit: shagging? Really? Censorship at it's finest.

Giffro and saabfender like this.
  6. saabfender

saabfender SUSPENDED

Jan 10, 2018
    Indianapolis
    Absolutely. I picked up my Mark IV at the local Sam Ash for $99. No shipping!

Giffro and BadExample like this.
  7. BadExample

BadExample

Jan 21, 2016
    Injiana
    Castleton? Great shop.

saabfender likes this.
  8. saabfender

saabfender SUSPENDED

Jan 10, 2018
    Indianapolis
    Yeah with generally good dudes, but it's like a ghost town every time I go in there. Don't know how they stay in business.