Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Cheap Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by -Saosin-, Sep 8, 2005.

1. -Saosin-

-Saosin-

Sep 8, 2005
    I got interested in the bass a few weeks ago and im ready to purchase one but im a little lost....

Im short on money so i want a bass around $200. Any suggestions? And is guitar center a good store to buy from?

2. sb69coupe

sb69coupe

Aug 9, 2004
    Raleigh NC
  3. -Saosin-

-Saosin-

Sep 8, 2005
    Thank you~!

4. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Gold Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    GC is not a bad place to pick up an inexpensive bass. They usually have alot of Yamaha RBX 170s, a bass that I think is really good in that price range. They also carry OLPs that can be had for around $200. COrt and ESP also have some great basses for around $200. You may also check out www.rondomusic.com. I have no experience with these basses but many on TB swaer they are excellent for the money. The bottom line is that you can get a decent sounding bass for around $200 that will allow you to grow as musician. My one piece of advice is always put more money in lessons than gear. If you don't know music or how to play, a Fodera or Sadowsky won't do much more for you than an SX or OLP. If I had done that, I know I would be a hundred times further along than I am now.

5. Geezerman

Geezerman

Nov 28, 2004
    Chicago, IL
    Depends on your options can you order online? Now is 200 just for a bass or a bass and a little amp?

6. bmc

bmc

Nov 15, 2003
    Switzerland
    Peavey makes a really cheaply priced entry bass. I can't remember what it's called, but I saw one in Canada for $209 CDN new. Two jazz pickups, nice neck. Cheap components, but an acceptable bass. I still might buy one for my daughter. Check it out.

7. Eilif

Eilif Supporting Member

Oct 1, 2001
    Chicago