cheap cheap bass suggestions?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by phlashx0r, Feb 12, 2001.

1. phlashx0r

Feb 12, 2001
    I feel like a dolt for asking this since I'm sure its been asked a million times already... I'm actually a drummer but I've always had fun playing bass when people leave them in our practice room so I've decided to get a cheap one and try to learn. I'd like to play punk/reggae/ska/metal, lots of stuff... I've played a Rogue LX200B and a Fender P-Bass quite a bit and I prefer the Rogue's light but sturdy feel... I'm looking to spend about 200 dollars, though someone might be able to convince me to go a little higher. Right now I'm seriously considering either an Ibanez GSR200 or a Dean Edge 1... both 200 dollars and both seem to have fairly good reviews from their owners. Suggestions?

Oh... I've looked through these forums a lot, so let me say: like I said, 200 dollars. CHEAP but GOOD. Please don't suggest I save up another 1000 dollars and buy something else. :)
  2. Last Call Playa

Last Call Playa

Feb 12, 2001
    Well since you are a drummer you know that the good deals are going to be on used equipment.
    You will get a much better used bass for $200 than you will a new bass.
    Check out the guitar shops and pawn shops and newspaper, then plug it in to an amp and tug on a string then let go. If you like the sound it makes go for it!
  3. JohnA

Mar 21, 2000

Saw something this week in a local shop. It was a musicman copy, but it had some neat features...

it was 35" scale (5st), had a composite fingerboard, and the wood actually looked like a decent slab. Neck fit looked tight, the bridge was on straight, and the finish was rad.

i think it was like $250. i was on my way out and just goofed with it not plugged in. the name was either a 'jay turser' or some other name that sounded like 2 names put together (can't remember it now)

Sep 10, 2000
    i'd say Fender P or dean Edge....
    but then again what would i know :oops:)