Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

cheap cheap bass suggestions?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by phlashx0r, Feb 12, 2001.

1. phlashx0r

phlashx0r

Feb 12, 2001
    I feel like a dolt for asking this since I'm sure its been asked a million times already... I'm actually a drummer but I've always had fun playing bass when people leave them in our practice room so I've decided to get a cheap one and try to learn. I'd like to play punk/reggae/ska/metal, lots of stuff... I've played a Rogue LX200B and a Fender P-Bass quite a bit and I prefer the Rogue's light but sturdy feel... I'm looking to spend about 200 dollars, though someone might be able to convince me to go a little higher. Right now I'm seriously considering either an Ibanez GSR200 or a Dean Edge 1... both 200 dollars and both seem to have fairly good reviews from their owners. Suggestions?

Oh... I've looked through these forums a lot, so let me say: like I said, 200 dollars. CHEAP but GOOD. Please don't suggest I save up another 1000 dollars and buy something else. :)

2. Last Call Playa

Last Call Playa

Feb 12, 2001
    Well since you are a drummer you know that the good deals are going to be on used equipment.
    You will get a much better used bass for $200 than you will a new bass.
    Check out the guitar shops and pawn shops and newspaper, then plug it in to an amp and tug on a string then let go. If you like the sound it makes go for it!

3. JohnA

JohnA

Mar 21, 2000

Saw something this week in a local shop. It was a musicman copy, but it had some neat features...

it was 35" scale (5st), had a composite fingerboard, and the wood actually looked like a decent slab. Neck fit looked tight, the bridge was on straight, and the finish was rad.