Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Cheap German No-Name DB

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by stealerwallic, Sep 8, 2005.

1. stealerwallic

stealerwallic

Jun 24, 2005
    I might have a chance to buy a no name German bass for REALLY cheap today. Are any of the eBay $500-800 double-bass-shaped objects German made? If so, that might be what this is and I'll skip it. My other question is, how can I tell right off the bat whether this is a cheap-o laminate or something worth taking a chance on (aside from playing it, because even though I'm a beginner I have played some cheap, crappy basses and I could tell once I put my hands on it)? But if this one plays well, what are the other telltale signs of a quality, or conversly cheap-o, double bass? What should I be looking for?

Thanks!

2. glivanos

glivanos Supporting Member

Jun 24, 2005
    Philadelphia Area
    Most of the eBay basses that are sold by dealers are cheap Chinese basses. Typically any basses sold on eBay that are any good are being sold by private owners. Of course there are always exceptions.

I'm not an expert, but I believe there are a few commonsense things to look for:

1) If the string action is high, there could either be neck or fingerboard ( warped finger board, neck attachment starting to give, etc.) issues or possibly structural issues of the body top sagging.

2) Also, if you hear rattles when you play the instrument, there could be body (loose bass bar, soundpost, cracks, loose endpin, etc) issues also.

I'd say if the action is good, no rattles, and the bass has a sound you like at less than $900 - $1000 you should be ok.

Good Luck!!

3. stealerwallic

stealerwallic

Jun 24, 2005
    You know what - it's even less than $900 (quite a bit less, in fact). So if it plays well at all I think I'll go for it.

Thanks!

4. stealerwallic

stealerwallic

Jun 24, 2005