1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Cheap Home Studio

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by vaca11, Jul 22, 2012.

1. vaca11

vaca11

Aug 11, 2011
    Hey guys im up to building my own home studio. Its not going to be something fancy, cheap behringer stuff for my own little pleasure.

All i want is a very cheap setup like 10-12 channel Xenyx mixer 2 loudspeakers may be monitors and other essentials.

Im not an expert about what to buy in this stuff (like i dont know difference between powered and normal mixer or will i need a power amp)

I am likely to use thomann.de or gak.co.uk

The reason im going too cheap is my gf is buying new curtains and they cost more than a musicman...

Sorry for poor grammar and i hope its the right forum

2. Hactar

Hactar

Sep 25, 2011
    Boulder, CO
    I'm not entirety clear on what you're asking, but it sounds like you want to know what you need to build a small home studio.

So, 10-12 ch mixer, powered monitors, DAC.

If you're going with Behringer, something like this could work:
    http://www.behringer.com/EN/Products/X1222USB.aspx
    http://www.behringer.com/EN/Products/B2030A.aspx
    This will get you 6 mic pres, a digital audio interface, and powered monitors.

However, you could also do something like a Soundcraft EPM6, a M-Audio Fast Track, and some M-Audio AV40 monitors.

Be aware that cheaping out on monitors can be a bad idea.

3. If you don't need more than 2 mic preamps, I highly recommend the M-audio Fast Track Pro. I've been using it for a while now and I like it as much as the much more expensive Edirol FA-66 interface.

My only experience with mixers is with 48-channel digital live-sound consoles. So can't help ya there.