Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Cheap Hotwire!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by CoolHat, Jul 30, 2004.

1. Thanks for the link, CoolHat. I'm on the look-out for a jazz at the moment so I appreciate the tip. I don't know much about Hotwire basses though. I'll do a TB search and see what the suss (story/news/info) is.

All the best,

Rob.

2. Christopher

Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY
    I like their website. They have multiple soundclips for all of their models.

1500 for an unadorned slab of ash? The setup better be good.

3. Check the other link, its only 900 there. BTW, I have no personal experiences with Hotwires, but they´re pretty highly regarded by many TB´ers. Sort of "European Sadowsky". With MIM Fenders going for 600-700 euros over here, I´d say 900 for a hand made Jazz is a bargain.

4. I spent much of the day sailing about their website. It's nice that I can order the exact spec Jazz that I want but I wonder how (for example) a Lakland Daryl Jones or Joe Osborn compare to a €1500 Hotwire. (I've had my eye on a Lakland DJ for a short while now).

I'd appreciate hearing any experience TBers may have had with Hotwire Jazzes. The sound-clips don't sound too stunning but I'm sure you could squeeze almost any sound out of a Jazz with the right amount of knob tweaking.

Rob.

5. Thanks for that, Smash. To be honest, I hadn't heard the name Hotwire until I started searching for Jazz Basses here on TB.

Hope your new bass is still making you grin ...

Rob.

6. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002
    Ontario
    Although Hotwires have never stunned me visually, I've never heard a bad thing about them sonically. They're apparently really killer instruments, and from what I've heard about them, 1500 euros is a damn sweet price.